The Best Films of the Decade: 2000-2009

 

Ranking the best films of the decade (well, my personal favourites anyway) is a daunting (and arguably pointless) task. But hey, it’s Christmas eve, I’m sitting inside munching good food and I can’t be arsed to do much else. So with our faithful family Schnauzer keeping me company and a plentiful supply of duck spring rolls, here’s what I’ve managed to compile. First I wrote down the obvious candidates and then jogged my memory by browsing my DVD shelf and a few other online lists. I’ve avoided a number of films which seem to crop up everywhere else because they honestly didn’t float my boat. For example, the Bourne films just piss me off. Thanks to the ridiculous shaky-cam editing I can’t see what the hell is going on, I’ll rewatch a classic Bond film over them any day. Then there’s Oscar brownnosers like No Country For Old Men. As a long term Coen fan, I found it oddly underwhelming.

So the films on this list are strictly the ones which matter to me. Many of them I rewatch often and will continue to do so. Others simply had a profound impact and refuse to leave my memory. I’ve reserved the top 10 for the films which tick both these boxes. In my opinion each one of them represents cinematic perfection. Either shocking, profoundly moving, hilarious, or the pinnacle of exciting escapism. In several cases I cried like a little girl (Yeah, so what). For one particular film I found the whole experience so satisfying and overwhelming, the only thing I could do was get right back in line to see it again! Sure it all seems a bit silly in hindsight, but I like getting that swept up in the experience, I wish it happened more often.  

Top 10

1 – The Lord of the Rings Trilogy 

2 – AI: Artificial Intelligence 

3 – There Will Be Blood 

4 – El Laberinto Del Fauno (Pan’s Labyrinth) 

5 – Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith 

6 – Shaun of the Dead 

7 – Sexy beast 

8 – Gladiator 

9 – In Bruges 

10 – City of God

 

It was too hard to exclude dozens of other great films. So I’ve assembled them in alphabetical order beneath the top 10. Don’t agree? Well, screw y- …um, actually, just leave a comment with your own suggestions.

Honourable Mention

 

Amelie 

Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy 

Avatar 

The Aviator 

Batman Begins 

Battle Royale

A Beautiful Mind 

Belleville Rendez-vous 

Borat: Cultral Learning of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan 

The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas 

Catch me If you Can 

Children of Men

The Dark Knight

The Departed 

Downfall 

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind 

Grizzly Man 

The Incredibles 

Inglourious Basterds 

Kill Bill (I & II) 

King Kong 

Kiss Kiss Bang Bang 

Let den ratte komma in (Let the Right One In) 

Little Miss Sunshine

Lord of War

Memento 

Minority Report 

The Mist 

Munich 

O Brother, Where Art Thou

Oldboy

Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Mans Chest 

Ratatouille 

Road to Perdition 

Sideways 

Spiderman (I & II) 

Spirited Away 

Star Wars Episode II: Attack of the Clones

Team America: World Police 

The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada 

War of the Worlds

Watchmen

~ by thewholebuffalo on December 24, 2009.

8 Responses to “The Best Films of the Decade: 2000-2009”

  1. Good titles there but perhaps my top ten would be (in no particular order):
    ~ Le fabuleux destin d’Amélie Poulain 2001 [Jean-Pierre Jeunet]
    ~ The Departed 2006 [Martin Scorsese]
    ~ Children of Men 2006 [Alfonso Cuarón]
    ~ Napoleon Dynamite 2004 [Jared Hess]
    ~ Lucky Number Slevin 2006 [Paul McGuigan]
    ~ 28 Days Later 2002 [Danny Boyle]
    ~ No Country for Old Men 2007 [Ethan Coen, Joel Coen]
    ~ Kite Runner 2007 [Marc Forster]
    ~ The Lord of the Rings Trilogy 2001-2003 [Peter Jackson]
    ~ Sexy Beast 2000 [Jonathan Glazer]
    11th) District 9 2009 [Neill Blomkamp] (whom I would give award for best Director)

    …..possibly a space for Avatar (in top 10) once i have seen it!

    Runners-up

    – The Dark Night
    – Scanner Darkly
    – Minority report
    – Donnie Darko
    – Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
    – Happy-Go-Lucky
    – A.I. – Artificial Intelligence
    – I, Robot
    – Equilibrium
    – War of the Worlds
    – Memento
    – Bourne Films
    – This is England
    – Spirited Away
    – The Motorcycle Diaries
    – Gladiator

  2. AI?…YOUR SMOKING CRACK?

    • No no, I can assure you I’m not. AI is haunting, bittersweet, totally unique, visionary, and heartbreaking. One of the greatest cinema experiences I’ve ever had. It’s obviously a Marmite movie, but that’s a good thing, far better than being bland. I’m certainly not the only person to call it a masterpiece.

      What films make it on to your list?

  3. you are smoking crack

    Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith

  4. Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith . .utter shit!

Leave a Reply

 
