Vals Im Bashir (Waltz with Bashir)

Rating – *

bashir

If you see just one politically charged, autobiographical, animated foreign film this year… see Persepolis instead. Bashir is a plodding, pretentious, overrated, misjudged, bore. I’ll probably get flamed for saying this as everyone else seems to think it’s a masterpiece. I hated almost every minute of it. I appreciate that Waltz With Bashir was a deeply personal project for the director, but that doesn’t make it watchable. The visuals are highly stylised, an amalgamation of A Scanner Darkly and Persepolis which strangely lacks the polish and charm of either of them. The actual movements of the characters are awkward and resemble a first year animation student’s coursework. This amateur vibe permeates much of the film. It never felt real to me. I could sense the desperate urge to be seen as profound and hip. This is one of those films where I constantly had to fight my growing urge to nod off, and it wasn’t always a successful battle. Many people found this film very rewarding and I’d be interested to hear why. Just to confirm, the film has nothing to do with journalist Martin Bashir dancing (possibly with Michael Jackson?) But personally I’d have preferred to see that.

~ by thewholebuffalo on July 18, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
