Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Rating**1/2

harry-potter-and-the-order-of-the-phoenix

I hate to say it but this didn’t really work for me. I felt Phoenix was a step backwards to the convoluted and often boring style of the 2nd film. I haven’t read the book but the plot on screen really didn’t make much sense or hold my interest. Individually, no element of the film is bad, but it doesn’t add up to a satisfying whole. Strangely, some of the visual effects seem to have taken a step backwards! Compare Sirius Black’s fireplace conversation to that of the beautiful realisation in the Goblet of Fire! This just looked like a cheap 5 minute After FX job! The film has it’s moments and Imelda Staunton is great. I swear that Helena Bonham Carter did absolutely nothing worthwhile! But that’s not her fault, it was bad screenwriting. Maybe It will grow on my with another viewing on DVD but right now I feel under whelmed.

~ by thewholebuffalo on July 9, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
